Give me patience. Immediately.

Give me patience. Immediately.

Insta-dry nail polish. The internet.  Fast food.  Washing Machines.  Vine.  Microwaves.  Cars.  Blow dryers.  Audiobooks.

What do these all have in common?  Two things: 1) They simplify my life.  2) They keep me from learning patience.

Let me be the first to tell you: I have absolutely no patience in most areas. I can’t use regular nail polish because I cannot go more than a minute without using my hands and ruining the wet polish.  If I want to go to the store to buy something, I always look the item up online first, just to see if the price is worth my time.  I always get to meals a few minutes before the cafeteria opens because I hate waiting in line.  My pile of “hand wash only” clothes sits in my room for weeks before I eventually get around to filling up the sink.  Unless it is a workout video or I am listening to music, I never click on a video longer than 30 seconds (and even as I type this, 30 seconds seems like a lengthy video to me).  Sometimes, I would rather eat something cold than stick it in the microwave for 30 seconds.

I could go on, but I am sure you get the idea.  Just call me Veruca Salt because I want it now!

That is why I find it so hard to trust God sometimes. He is working out His perfect plan in ways I cannot imagine, and yet I worry and try to make everything work on my own.  I make endless lists and spreadsheets and plan out how my entire life is going to look down to the minute (if you don’t believe me, just ask someone who has seen my planner.  I really do have every day divided by the hour).  But Psalm 27:14 says, “ Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.”

Wait.  That may be my least favorite word ever.  What is more annoying than the pizza place saying, “There will be a 10 minute wait on the Ready-Now pizzas”?  Wait.  Be still.  Pray.   I have learned that it is easier to wait when I do the following things:

  1. Pray and commit to give the situation completely to God.  I make a list of situations that I am not going to do anything about other than pray.  Sometimes all you can do is pray.
  2. Remind myself that God is going to work it out.  Since I love surprises, I tell myself that God is working on a huge surprise for me, and the longer I wait, the greater the surprise will be.
  3. Trust God.  I know that it is hard.  How can you rely on Someone that you cannot see?  Well, I can’t see anybody’s thoughts, but I trust that those thoughts are behind their words.  In the same way, I trust that God is behind all of the out-workings of life.  No one else could make everything work out the way He does.

Let me challenge you to find a time today to pray to God and give Him your struggles.  Make a list of what you are going to hand completely over to Him.  Remind yourself that you are waiting on the best present ever, and trust Him to deliver it in a timely manner.  He is perfect, after all.  Who are we to demand that He work on our time?

Leave a Reply

