Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Break

Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Break

summerquiet

Top Ten Things to do on Your Summer Break

1. Learn a new skill.

Colleges and small town shops offer classes on everything from baking, weaving, and pottery to archery, fishing, and rock climbing.  The possibilities are endless!

2. Travel the world.

Buy a plane ticket and see what the world has to offer.  It may be “a small world, after all,” but it has limitless explorations awaiting.

3. Explore your hometown.

Purposefully take some wrong turns and see where you end up.  Who knows? You may find  a new park, restaurant, or store that you didn’t know existed.

4. Soak up the sun.

After months of sitting inside heated rooms, enjoy the natural vitamin D!  Just be sure to wear sunscreen!

5. Take advantage of local, state, and national parks.

Nature has still been beautifully preserved in some areas.  Turn off the iPhone and cherish God’s natural revelation.

6. Read a good book.

I just finished The Name of this Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch.  Even though it is a children’s book, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket.

7. Look at the stars.

“The heavens declare the glory of God and the firmament sheweth his handiwork.” Psalm 19:1

8. Breathe.

Take a break.  Even if you do not get a true vacation, take a few moments to simply enjoy the freedom that summer offers.  Sunny skies, singing birds, and flowering fields are all promises that you will soon get respite.

9. Memorize Scripture.

God’s Word is a special gift to humankind.  Through it, He guides our lives.  Take advantage of His revelation and store it in your heart.  It will never harm you.

10.  Cherish every moment.

Life is short.  Do not waste the precious seconds.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Break

  1. I love your summer goals! I am going to memorize scripture this summer too! I have 6 verses down…so I am felling pretty good! We are moving out-of-state, so looking around our new home town sounds like a good idea too! Have a blessed summer!-Kloe

    Like

      1. I am memorizing Isaiah 40:28-31. You should look them up and maybe memorize them yourself. Thy are beautiful! We are moving to Arkansas. We are currently living in Michigan so it will be a BIG move. What ones have you been memorizing? 🙂

        Like

      2. You are right; those are great verses. What a powerful reminder of the source of our strength! A summer class I am taking required me to memorize Rom. 1:18-25, Psalms 139:13-16, and some verses in I Corinthians. I have also memorized Phil. 4:8. Good luck with your move! I will be praying for you through that huge transition!

        Like

  2. Kat, I looked up the verses and they are wonderful! Are you taking a Bible class? It’s great that you memorized from Rom.18 all the way through 25!

    Thanks for the prayers. I know that God will help us through this. Have a wonderful rest of Sunday and a great week. Looking forward to more of your posts! 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, I just finished my freshman year of Bible college, and I decided to take a summer class titled Christian Ethics in order to get ahead on some requirements for my major.

      I have enjoyed scrolling through your blog posts as well. I can’t wait to hear more about your oatmeal endeavors 🙂 Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

