Healthy Dessert Nachos

Healthy Dessert Nachos

 

tortillasSome days, I know exactly what I want to eat.  Other days, I stand in front of the open refrigerator and stare.  Today fell into the second category.  Turkey? No.  Cottage cheese? No. Steamed veggies? Nothing sounded quite right.  I racked my brain.  I wanted something sweet, not too sugary, and with lots of protein.  The healthy dessert nachos were born! I mixed up some cinnamon and honey, spread it on two corn tortillas, and grilled them.  For the topping, I used my Peanut Butter Paradise Pudding and fresh strawberries.  It was delectable!

For the Chips:

Ingredients:

  • 2 corn tortillas
  • 1 tbs honey (more or less to taste)*
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon (more or less to taste)*

*This is an approximate amount.  I simply stirred honey and cinnamon together until it looked like a good amount.

Directions:

  • Spray a frying pan with non-stick spray and begin warming it over high heat.
  • Mix the cinnamon and honey.
  • Using a spoon, spread the honey-cinnamon mixture evenly onto one side of the tortillas.
  • Use scissors to cut the tortillas into triangles.
  • Place tortillas, honey-side-up, onto hot pan and allow to cook 3-5 minutes, until crisp.  The bottom side should be lightly browned.
  • Serve with your choice of toppings and dips.

 

Leave a Reply

