Thrifty Thursday

Thrifty Thursday

thriftythursday

I didn’t have to be at work until after 9 o’clock this morning, so I decided to take advantage of the extra time with an early morning run to Goodwill.  Personally, weekday mornings are the best time to hit thrift shops.  This is when you find fresh items, and you do not have to fight the crowds.

Today was a high-scoring day (I probably could have blown my whole paycheck, but I have decent self-control).  The racks were full of awesome shoes, and there were a plethora in my size.  Don’t worry; I reined myself in.  I only bought 2 pairs–lightly used running shoes (my old New Balances are pretty beat) and a pair of Charlotte Russe peep toe pumps.  The grand total? $8!!

The real steal of the day was left on the rack, however.  Right there, amidst the 1990s chunky sneakers and beat up flip-flops, was a pair of Coach sneakers.  I almost fainted.  They fit! They matched the outfit I wore today!  They were only $7!  I was in heaven…until I further inspected them.  They were pretty beat-up.  The soles were raw, and the stitching was frayed.  I put them back, reluctantly.  I don’t know which is the greater crime:  the fact that Coach shoes were only $7 or the fact that I didn’t buy them.

Leave a Reply

