Oats and Outfits: Thursday {Seeing Spots}

Oats and Outfits: Thursday {Seeing Spots}

seeingspots

Pink has been my go-to color since childhood, and it always pairs nicely with contrasting blacks and whites. This Aeropostale shirt has been in my wardrobe since middle school, and I received the skirt as a hand-me-down over Christmas break.

To continue the polka-dot motif from my belt, I made Lemon Poppy Seed Oatcakes (this one isn’t completely original; I adapted it from theoatmealartist.com).  I topped the fluffy circles with yogurt and cranberries to continue the pink theme.  Here’s my take on the single-serve recipe:

 

Lemon Poppy Seed Oatcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1.5 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp poppy seeds
  • 1 tbsp. honey

Directions:

  • Combine and blend all ingredients in a blender.
  • Transfer mixture to a sealable bowl and let sit overnight.  It will thicken to the proper consistency.
  • In the morning, heat a griddle or frying pan. (I also added a little more lemon juice at this time.)
  • Pour batter in small portions onto greased, hot pan (Be sure to spray the pan well–these have a tendency to stick!).  Flip each pancake when the top is covered with bubbles.
  • Serve with fruit, honey, yogurt, syrup, or any other desired toppings!

 

 

One thought on “Oats and Outfits: Thursday {Seeing Spots}

Leave a Reply

