Image

2 Miles in My Flip-Flops

2miles

It’s a hot, lazy Saturday in rural North Carolina.  Slipping into a worn pair of flip-flops and grabbing my camera, I head out to enjoy the blazing sunshine.  It is a solitary stroll, but I am not alone.  While women rock on front porches, fathers play catch with their sons.  Teenage boys, still high with World Cup fever, dribble worn balls.  Power tools buzz as men work in their out buildings.  Insects hover in clouds around my head.

Two miles pass.  By the end, my feet are rubbed raw under rubber straps and my memory card has dozens of extra pictures.  I love these lazy days of summer.

 

treeface

 

produce

 

grapes

 

horse

Leave a Reply

