Top Ten Tuesday: Organize for School

Top Ten Tuesday: Organize for School

organize

One month from today, I will be heading back to college. Between classes, work, church, and extracurricular activities, college is rushed, hectic, and taxing. However, I have found some organizational tricks to help me live stress-free (or at least stress-reduced). These ten tricks will help organize your time, habits, and dorm room to keep college enjoyable.

Ten Organizational Tricks for School

1. Use a calendar.

I neatly schedule every class, assignment, and activity in a small daily planner.  In order to keep events straight, I color code each class (pink pen for history, orange pen for English, etc.) I also write down my work schedule at the top of each day.  I admit, it may be excessive, but I go as far as to write down what I am going to wear so that I don’t have to make decisions in the morning (I am really indecisive!).

2. Get everything ready the night before.

Before I go to bed, I pull out my handy calendar and prepare for the next day.  I separate out the clothes that I plan to wear the next morning, and I lay out all the jewelry and accessories to match. If I have any pressing matters to deal with in the morning, I leave a note on top of my shoes so that I won’t forget.

3. Start projects early.

You will hear this one a lot, but it is extremely useful.  Starting the project as early as possible ensures that you won’t be running around searching for supplies at the last minute.  Simply brainstorming ideas the first week of class is a great way to start organizing a project.

4. Space out studying.

There are only 24 hours in a day, and you have to find a way to get everything done.  I suggest keeping an “order of importance” list to prioritize your studying.  In between activities, pull out your notes.  Even two minutes can help you prepare for an upcoming exam.

5. Enjoy mealtime.

Do not be so worried about the next thing on your list that you rush through your meal.  Schedule at least 30 minutes (I usually schedule an hour) per meal into your day so that you can enjoy a break.

6. Utilize hidden space.

When it comes to the dorm room, it is important to think outside the box.  Consider every possible way to store something.  Hang coats on the closet door, keep your hamper under your bed.  Hang purses on the wall as artwork rather than shoving them in your closet.  There is plenty of room in a dorm if you get creative.

7. Don’t carry excess.

Only carry the books and supplies you need for a single day.  I usually carry one pencil, two pens, and a highlighter in addition to my Bible, laptop, planner, and books.

8. Write it down.

I keep a pen and piece of paper with me at all times.  If anything pops in my head to be done, I write it down.

9. Buy a smaller backpack.

This will require you to clean out your bag more regularly.  In turn, you will not carry unnecessary junk, and you will save your back.

10.  Close your closet.

When the closet is left open, it seemingly floods your room.  Keeping the doors shut hides the clutter.

 

What do you do to stay organized at school?

Leave a Reply

