Paleo Problems and Sweet Potato Patties

Paleo Problems and Sweet Potato Patties

sweetpotatopatties

I’ve noticed a lot of people out in blogger’s world advocating the Paleo diet.  They make it sound great–let’s eat like cavemen–and their pages have some pretty yummy recipes.  Since I know I could never be a strict Paleo (no oatmeal? no yogurt? no black beans? forget it!), I decided to see if I could even make it a day.

For breakfast, I cooked some eggs.  So far so good…then I topped them with corn salsa.  Strike one.

          – That’s okay.  It’s only one meal.  I will do better the rest of the day.

My mid-morning snack was peanuts.  Strike two.

          – Alright. Third time is the charm.  Lunch will be perfect.

I found a recipe for sweet potato patties, made some modifications to keep it both Paleo and tasty, and set to work. After some cooking and photographing, I devoured two delicious sweet potato patties…topped with cottage cheese.  Strike three.  I’m out.

More power to ya’, cavemen.  For now, I will keep eating peanut butter out of the jar with a spoon.

Paleo (or not) Sweet Potato Patties

Ingredients

  • 1 cup shredded sweet potato
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tbs. almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp. ground turmeric
  • honey to taste (if you have also given up the Paleo way of life 🙂 )

Directions

  • Mix all ingredients in a bowl
  • Shape mixture into two patties
  • Heat a medium skillet over high heat and place patties in the pan
  • Cook for a few minutes on each side until the patties are golden brown
  • Remove from pan, eat, and be thankful that we are not cave people
One thought on “Paleo Problems and Sweet Potato Patties

Leave a Reply

