Blueberry Cucumber Smoothie

Blueberry Cucumber Smoothie

bluecumber

“If you like to talk to tomatoes,

If a squash can make you smile,

If you like to waltz with potatoes,

Up and down the produce aisle…”

Then you’re gonna’ love this smoothie!

As a kid, VeggieTales was one of my favorite video series.  Larry the Cucumber, Bob the Tomato, Jr. Asparagus, and Laura Carrot always made me smile.

Now, I am more of a veggie-eater than a veggie-watcher, but I still throw random VeggieTales quotes into every day conversation.

And are you prepared to deal with that? I don’t think so!

Before I proceed with the rest of this post, I would like us to take a moment of silence to mourn the end of berry season.

 

Moment over.

Don’t fret;  I have some good news!  The delicious smoothie posted above was made with FROZEN berries.  You can make this tasty veggie and fruit smoothie any time of the year.

But before I share the recipe with you, I have one more piece of advice…

Beware of grapes with wooden mallets.

bluecumber1

Blueberry Cucumber Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal (optional)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 small cucumber, peeled, seeded, and cubed
  • 2/3 cup to 1 cup frozen blueberries

Directions

  • If using oatmeal, I recommend soaking the oatmeal in milk overnight
  • Combine oatmeal (if using), milk, cucumber, and blueberries in a blender until smooth
  • Transfer to a glass and drink

bluecumber2

Leave a Reply

