On a Quest

On a Quest

quest

 

For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?

–Mark 8:36

 

A few weeks ago, I sampled the highly-praised Quest Bar.  It didn’t disappoint.  It was chewy, sweet, decadent, and filling.  Both flavors I tried (lemon cream pie and strawberry cheesecake) are to die for.  Quest Bars are quite possibly the best snack bar I have ever had, and I could easily become an addict.

One night as I was struggling to fall asleep, I started thinking about their name and slogan.

Quest…

…On a Quest

For what?

The company’s “mission is to revolutionize food and make healthy eating fun.”

But what is my mission? 

The Declaration of Independence affirms that I can have the “pursuit of happiness.”

What am I pursuing?

Is fun and happiness all there is to life?

Matthew 6:33 says, “…Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness…”

What am I seeking?

If I am seeking happiness in anything other than God, I will never find it.  Money runs out.  Good grades will only get me a piece of paper.  No matter how much I eat, I will be hungry again.  Friends are imperfect and will fail.  God is eternal, sufficient, righteous, and gracious.

I could become a national magazine photojournalist, a triathlon winner, a cookbook publisher, or a fashion week designer.  However, if I have lost my zeal to serve God, my life is aimless.

When I strive for Him, seek to know Him, and pursue a life revolutionized by Him, I will have a proper quest.

What is your quest?

Eat your Quest and know it too.

 

Leave a Reply

