Dorm Life: Pumpkin French Toast Bites

Dorm Life: Pumpkin French Toast Bites

pumpkinfrenchtoast

I do not remember the last time I had French toast before this summer.  My mom made it when I was little, but somewhere along the line my family became obsessed with homemade waffles and we quit regularly eating French toast, pancakes, and English muffins.  While I was in New Mexico, I re-learned how to make this easy, hearty breakfast.  My school serves French toast sticks every morning, but the once-frozen-now-fried bars have no appeal to me; I like real French toast made with wholesome bread, eggs, and milk.  Being a lover of all things pumpkin, I created dorm-friendly French toast bites to fuel my studies today.

All you need are some basic, shelf-stable ingredients and a hot pot to create a delectable breakfast or late-night study snack.

Pumpkin French Toast Bites

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices bread of choice
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup milk (shelf-stable almond milk is a great item to keep in your dorm pantry)
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

  • Turn hot pot on to medium-low heat and coat with non-stick spray.  (This recipe really works better with an actual pan and stove, but desperate times call for desperate measures!)
  • Mix together milk, pumpkin, and cinnamon.
  • Let the mixture sit while you cut bread into bite-size squares.
  • Thoroughly coat each square with the milk mixture before placing it in the hot pot. You will need to work in several batches to let each piece cook completely on both sides before removing it from the pot.
  • If desired, warm the remaining pumpkin mixture and use it to top your bites.  You can also top with yogurt, honey, peanut butter, or raisins, or you can eat the French toast plain.

 

2 thoughts on “Dorm Life: Pumpkin French Toast Bites

Leave a Reply

