You’ll Never Flip Me; I’m a Gingerbread Pancake

You’ll Never Flip Me; I’m a Gingerbread Pancake

gingerbread1

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!  The college halls have been “decked”, the church across the street is building a nativity, and ugly sweaters are making an appearance in the cafeteria.  It’s time to celebrate!

The idea came to me as I lay in bed one cold morning.  Gingerbread man pancakes!  After pulling myself from the warm covers, I gathered my supplies to create a delicious, wintry breakfast.  Eggs, flour, applesauce, spices, I had everything I needed.  Except a man-shaped cookie cutter.  Whatever, I thought, I will make this work without a cookie cutter.gingerbread2

First, I mixed together all of the ingredients (see below).  It smelled delicious!

gingerbread3

Then, I poured my batter onto the pan in the shape of a gingerbread man.

This is where I ran into a little trouble.  I couldn’t get my man to flip.  At all.

After a little reconstructive surgery, I formed what you see below…

gingerbread4
One mishap was not going to stop me, though.  I still had over half of my batter left.  I poured it all into the pan to make one large pancake.  My plan was to use cookie cutters to cut the large pancake into shapes.

I can’t flip a pancake. gingerbread5
So I did what any self-respecting blogger would do.  I smashed my pancake scraps together in a  cookie cutter, took some pictures, and told all my loyal readers about the ordeal.

gingerbread6

Hey, looks aren’t everything.  It’s the delicious taste of these babies that counts!

Gingerbread Man Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 1 tbs. wheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 1/8 tsp. all spice
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 scant pinch cloves

Directions

  • Thoroughly combine all ingredients in a bowl.
  • Coat a pan with non-stick spray and warm over medium heat.
  • Pour batter by spoonful onto pan.
  • Once bubbles are forming on top of the batter, flip the pancake.
  • Cook several more minutes.
  • Transfer to plate.
  • Eat and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “You’ll Never Flip Me; I’m a Gingerbread Pancake

Leave a Reply

