Eating My Age

Eating My Age

eatyourage

It’s hard to believe that I detested hot cereal at the beginning of freshman year.  Oatmeal cookies were a favorite, baked oatmeal was delectable, and granola was ALWAYS in my yogurt.  However, stove-top breakfast oatmeal was bland, mushy, and unappealing.  When I discovered all the creative possibilities for a bowl of oatmeal, my whole mindset was altered.  Now, I eat oatmeal as often as possible.

Cucumbers were another enemy of mine.  For some reason, I just hated them until this past summer.  One of my dad’s coworkers gave us part of her cucumber crop, and I began experimenting.

The same story can be told of hot tea, turkey, lettuce, tomato soup, green beans, and many other foods.  It is amazing how our tastes change.

So amazing, in fact, that I find it bizarre when full-grown adults eat like children, when they refuse to eat anything green, when they order chicken nuggets at every single restaurant.  Don’t get me wrong–there are still vegetables I do not like (celery? Eeew).  I also have childlike guilty pleasures.  But I don’t refuse to eat spinach, broccoli, and peas solely because I dislike collards.  If you never retry a food you once disliked, you will never realize that there comes a time when our palettes expand we begin to eat our age.

Cucumber Plum Microwave Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • water
  • 1 plum, chopped
  • 2-3 cucumber slices

Directions:

  • soak oatmeal in 3/4 cups water for at least 10 minutes
  • drain oatmeal
  • add 1/2 cup water and 1/2 plum, chopped
  • microwave on high 3 minutes
  • stir in the remaining plum and cucumber slices
  • eat and enjoy

How has your taste changed over the years?

Leave a Reply

