Closing Comeraderies: January {Creating Beauty in the Kitchen}

Closing Comeraderies: January {Creating Beauty in the Kitchen}

close

January has been a crazy month, and I honestly wondered if I was going to manage to post a “Closing Comeraderies.”  However, Lori from Creating Beauty in the Kitchen agreed to share a recipe, and I managed to eek out a post.

Lori used to hate cooking, but as her husband’s pastoral life grew busier, she discovered that cooking wasn’t so bad after all, and it served as a great creative outlet.  In addition to tasty recipes, Lori’s blog has many beautiful crafting projects.  I hope you enjoy her post!

When Kat asked me to be her “Closing Comerade”, I was super excited and honored to be asked! I mean, Kat is Kat. She is fun and spunky…her profile pic says it all! 🙂 And I just love her “9 lives!” So creative! I thought I would bring what has been in my kitchen over here for you all to enjoy. I love going downstairs, not having any plan for what I am going to make, and then creating something that surprises me….in a good way. 🙂 That is exactly how this recipe was created. It is low-glycemic, gluten free, without any refined sugar, of course. 🙂 But don’t let that fool you, it is fresh and full of delicious taste. No, you will not see measurements on my recipe. It’s not that I am trying to make things hard for you, its that I really don’t measure when I cook. I play around with how much of each ingredients by tasting as I go. 🙂

Lemon Rosemary Chicken & Squash with a Creamy Garlic Wine Sauce

servings=2 People

*Created by Lori at creatingbeautyinthekitchen.wordpress.com

DSC_0068compressed

Ingredients:

  • Lemon Coconut milk
  • Fresh rosemary
  • Fresh Garlic
  • White cooking wine
  • Onions
  • Feta
  • Yellow squash
  • Boneless skinless chicken
  • Black pepper
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Place chicken in a baking dish.
  • Cut up the fresh rosemary and put it, along with fresh squeezed lemon juice, all over the chicken on both sides.
  • Cut up the onion, and place the pieces on and around the chicken.
  • Cut up the squash and place it in the baking dish.
  • Combine the thick part of the coconut milk, garlic, white cooking wine, olive oil, feta, and black pepper.
  • Pour into the baking dish over the chicken and squash.
  • Bake for about 30 minutes.

We really enjoyed the fun flavors in this dish! And it was nice to have the vegetables and meat cook all together, instead of making separate things. Kat, thanks again for letting me come hang out here on your blog for a day! 🙂

DSC_0067compressed

Thanks for sharing, Lori!

Be sure to check out more of Lori’s recipes as creatingbeautyinthekitchen.wordpress.com.

4 thoughts on “Closing Comeraderies: January {Creating Beauty in the Kitchen}

Leave a Reply

