Top Ten Tuesday: Home and Away

Top Ten Tuesday: Home and Away

home

I love living on campus.  Most days, I contentedly awake in my dorm room and spend the entire day within a three-block radius.  At the same time, I miss being at home, seeing my family, and eating mom’s cooking.  It is a dichotomous life.  When I am at home, I dread going back to my hectic life at school.  On the other hand, I keep myself so busy at school that I don’t think about going home.

Ten Benefits of My Life at Home and at School

1. At home I can do laundry for free, but at school I have better towels (I received amazingly soft and absorbent towels as a graduation present).

2. At home Mom will cook whatever delicious food I request, but at school there is always a salad bar.

3. At home I can rely on my family, but at school there is always a friend nearby.

4. At home I relax in the warm bathtub (versus quick showers at school), but at school I have complete control of my room’s thermostat.

5. At home my runs are solitary and rural, but at school I can run through the quaint streets of Old Salem.

6. At home I have the freedom of using my driver’s license (I don’t have a car on campus), but at school everything I need is within walking distance.

7. At home my church family has known me since birth, but at school I attend the church’s college group.

8. At home the stars light up the night sky, but at school I can see the Wachovia building.

9. At home I play board games with my family, but at school I can knock out school assignments.

10. At home my parents are always ready to share the wisdom and insight, but at school I can use the library whenever it is open.

What are your thoughts about living at home versus living on campus?

Leave a Reply

