Closing Comrades: March {The Breakfast Drama Queen}

Closing Comrades: March {The Breakfast Drama Queen}

close

Happy end of March!  This month, I have invited Claudia (A.K.A. The Breakfast Drama Queen) to be my closing comrade.  Here’s what she has to say:

Hi there! I’m Claudia from The Breakfast Drama Queen, and I’m delighted to be a guest on
Kat’s 9 Lives.

Kat gave me the exciting opportunity to write about anything – anything!
As I’m currently studying law and have a degree in economics, I could
give you a lengthy discussion on monetary policy or negligence law. But
I wouldn’t be that cruel. So instead I’m going to talk about one of my
favorite foods in the universe, baked oatmeal!

Baked oatmeal is like a breakfast cake. Best of all, it’s so easy to
recreate your favorite desserts as healthy baked oatmeal breakfasts!

Some of my favorites include…

Black Forest Baked Oatmeal
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
German Chocolate Cake Baked Oatmeal

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and Banana Upside Down Cake Baked Oatmeal

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not surprisingly, my blog is becoming overwhelmed by baked oatmeal
recipes.

Depending on the recipe and baking times, it can be chewy like a cookie
or soft like a muffin (or somewhere in between). So, here are a few of
my tips for making dessert-worthy baked oatmeals.

1. Fruit/Vegetable Purees
There’s nothing like some pumpkin puree, mashed banana or applesauce to
add moisture and volume to baked oatmeals. Alternatively, try adding
some grated apple, carrot or zucchini.

2. Toppings
Just like cakes, baked oatmeals can be jazzed up with a range of
toppings. I often top my baked oatmeal with nut butters or coconut
yogurt. Actual frosting works too!

3. Removing Baked Oatmeal from the Ramekin
Ordinarily, I’d recommend just eating baked oatmeal out of the ramekin
(unless you bake them in muffin pans). It’s easier and faster this way.
However, they do look pretty if you make the effect to remove them from
the ramekins and place them on a prettier dish.

If removing the baked oatmeal from the ramekin, the first thing to do is
make sure it’s cooked enough. This seems obvious, but don’t we all
forget things early in the morning when we’re feeling impatient and
hungry? The baked oatmeal should be dry on top and a little bit firm to
touch. Wobbly or doughy baked oatmeal will collapse if you try to remove
it form the dish.

Next, let the oatmeal cool in the ramekin for at least five minutes.
Yes, the wait is hard. But it’s 120% necessary. Loosen it a bit by
running a butter knife around the circumference of the baked oatmeal.
Then invert it onto a plate (or, if you’re game, your hand). Invert the
oatmeal again so it’s the right way up.

But as I said, this is just for aesthetic reasons. Most days I’m so
eager to eat my oatmeal that I won’t wait five seconds longer than
necessary and simply eat it out of the baking dish.

4. Chocolate Chips
Seriously, add them. Life is better with chocolate.

And that’s all I have to say about one of my favorite breakfasts. Are
you a baked oatmeal fan?

Thanks, Claudia, for sharing these great tips–they were much more interesting than an economics lecture!  I also am an oatmeal enthusiast, and I am definitely guilty of impatiently eating baked oatmeal before it has cooled.

For more oatmeal fun, check out Claudia’s site or look through the numerous oatmeal recipes that I have posted (including Banana Bread Baked Oatmeal and Blueberry Muffin Baked Oatmeal).

I hope that you had a wonderful March!

Leave a Reply

