Creamy Mango Smoothie

Creamy Mango Smoothie

mangosmoothie1

It was hot.  There was no air conditioning.  The dust re-entered the church quicker than we could sweep it out.

 

trinidad1

On one of our first days in Trinidad, my senior class was tasked with the duty of cleaning a church.  While the girls painted, swept, mopped, and washed the inside of the building, the boys mixed and poured concrete out front.  Within minutes, the twelve of us were parched and starving.

trinidad

This is when I met fresh mango for the first time.  I am sure that I had sampled the canned version on various buffet bars as a child, but I had never before peeled and sliced this juicy fruit for myself.  Using a friend’s pocket knife, I sliced into the tender skin.  I made a mess–a sticky, yellow, slimy mess–and decided that a banana was the easier way to go.

My second encounter with fresh mango was a few weeks ago.  For some reason, I refuse to buy a real kitchen knife for my dorm room. My mom even offered to give me one of her knives, but I turned her down.  Things tend to disappear from dorm rooms, and I don’t like the idea of having anything sharper than a pair of scissors available for pilfering.  Therefore, I attacked the red fruit with my trusty butter knife.

The fruit won.  By the end of the ordeal, I my entire counter had a yellow hue.

Nonetheless, the battle resulted in a delicious smoothie, and it was well worth the fight.  I have a great desire to call this a milkshake instead of a smoothie because the drink is extremely creamy.

mangosmoothie2

One of these days, I will learn to properly peel and slice a mango.  Until then, I will keep making messes and licking sticky nectar from my fingers.

mangosmoothie4

Creamy Mango Smoothie

Ingredients

makes 2 smoothies

  • 2 cups milk of choice
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla yogurt
  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 1 fresh mango, peeled and sliced

Directions

  • Combine all ingredients in a blender until smooth
  • Drink and enjoy

mangosmoothie3

 

Have a lovely weekend and happy Fiesta Friday!

 

fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

 

11 thoughts on “Creamy Mango Smoothie

      1. It surprised me when you said Trinidad as well. My first thought was, “Hey! I’ve been there!” It’s not exactly a common place for most people to visit, but it is a beautiful island. I wish I could go back!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I wish I could 🙂

        Yes, I spent a few days on Tobago as well. While I was there, we went on a boat tour of the island and went snorkeling. My friends and I all wanted to bring home sand from the Nylon Pool because it made our skin so smooth!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

