Closing Comrades: May {A Southern Heart}

Closing Comrades: May {A Southern Heart}

I recently began expanding my blog’s footprint by joining some social media blog networks.  Just a few days after doing so, Julia at A Southern Heart posted that she was looking to partner with other Christian bloggers to share inspirational posts.  Within a week, we had made plans to collaborate.

A few weeks ago, I shared this post on Julia’s blog.  Now she is returning the favor by posting on mine.  Here is what she wrote:

These past few weeks have been absolutely crazy. After many sleepless nights of stressing over exams, papers, graduating, and everything in between, I realized something. I need to let go of things that are holding me back from the bigger picture. I came across this verse on my Bible App and it definitely  spoke to me, more than any verse ever has.

I’ve realized that things in my life are good, but they aren’t great, and definitely aren’t perfect. I’ve been lagging in my relationship with God and putting relationships with others first. This needs to change, and fast. I need to let go of things in the past (even if that past is this morning or afternoon) that are holding me back and move forward to a bigger and greater goal- my journey with God. 

  • “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 44: 18-19 (NIV)

God is constantly in our lives, whether we see it or not. As we let go of things that are holding us back, we can focus on the more important goal of growing with God. 

  • “Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead. I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. All of us who are mature should take such views of things. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you.” Philippians 3: 13-16 (NIV)

This verse translated from The Message is SO clear…it’s telling us exactly what to do and how we can stay on track. 

  • “So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision- you’ll see it yet! Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it.” Philippians 3: 15 & 16 (The Message)

God should be our goal, we should want to do everything with Him and for Him. I need Him in my life and I want Him. When things become unclear we have to trust in Him so that He will lead us in the right direction and keep us on track with our goal. But first, we must let go of what is holding us back.  It’s not going to be easy to let go; however, with God we can do it.

IMG_7192

I am very glad that I found Julia’s blog.  We have a lot in common, including a love for Lilly Pulitzer.

This post from her was very encouraging and truthful.  Most of us allow things of the past to hinder our present relationship with God, but He can “clear the blurred vision.”

Thanks for sharing, Julia!

Be sure to head over to Julia’s blog and share some love!

Leave a Reply

