1 Ingredient 3 Ways: Acorn Squash {Oatmeal}

1 Ingredient 3 Ways: Acorn Squash {Oatmeal}

squashoatmeal2So far, I have tried two conventional methods of serving an acorn squash: stuffed and mashed.  Today, though, I am uniting acorn squash with my true love–oatmeal!

squashoatmeal3

When I tasted this oatmeal, I was a bit disappointed that it did not taste more squash-y.  In my opinion, it tastes just like any other bowl of oatmeal with nutmeg, vanilla, and cinnamon (not that I’m complaining–I do love oatmeal!).  However, the texture was thicker and creamier.  As I ate, the bowl seemed unending – I just kept eating, and eating, and eating…

Acorn Squash Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup cooked acorn squash (unseasoned)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

  • Bring water to a boil.
  • Stir in oats and reduce heat to medium.  Cook 2-3 minutes.
  • Stir in squash and return to boil.
  • Add cinnamon, vanilla, and nutmeg.
  • Cook approximately 5 minutes, or until you are pleased with the consistency.
  • Transfer to bowl, eat, and enjoy!

squashoatmeal1

Flavor-wise, my favorite recipe was the garlic mashed acorn squash.  Which recipe was your favorite?

allacorn

What should I experiment with next?

One thought on “1 Ingredient 3 Ways: Acorn Squash {Oatmeal}

Leave a Reply

