There Are Just 3 College Students

There Are Just 3 College Students

DSC_0045

As students have returned to campus and arrived for the first time, I have realized that there are really just three types of college students: the positive planners, aimless aliens, and directed drifters. I have been in each of these categories since starting college two years ago, and I want to encourage all students with what the Lord has taught me.

When I started college in 2013, I was a positive planner.  I had no doubt about my bright future which was neatly scheduled into a five-year plan.  I was determined to get my bachelors degree in elementary education and then earn my masters before teaching fourth grade a local Christian school.  If I met a nice guy along the way, I would get married. I had my perfect life imagined, and I was even a bit condescending to those who had not chosen a major yet. Life was set.

A month later, I became an aimless alien–lost, misplaced, and directionless.  Suddenly, I began questioning my decision to become an elementary teacher, and I started throwing around other options.  I could be a high school English teacher.  Or I could be a librarian.  Or a photojournalist.  A nutritionist.  A…anything.  One night, I sat in the dorm stairwell and finally told God that I was willing to leave my comfort zone and the path I had always thought I would take.

By August of my Sophomore year, I was completely purposeless.  I had survived a hard summer, and I did not want to come back to school.  In fact, I did not want to do anything that was not easy and fun.  Because of my selfish thinking, any ideas I had for the future were unwise, and impractical.  I never would have said this, but I felt like God had failed to direct me. I was empty and lost. This feeling stuck with me for almost nine months.

A few weeks after Sophomore year ended, a man stood on a platform in front of me and 1500 other college students.  He asked the question, “Who are you?”  I honestly did not know how to answer that question.  He then said, “You cannot know what you are supposed to do with your life until you know who you are.”

I had no idea who I was.  I knew that I was a Christian, but that was it.  As a Pine Cove employee over the summer, I accepted the truths that I have always been taught:

  • I am a daughter of the King of Kings (John 1:12) in the painful process of sanctification (I Thes. 4:3a).
  • I am God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works which He has before ordained (Ephesians 2:10).

I am a directed drifter–I do not have a set plan for the future, but I know that the Lord does have a set plan, and I can rest contentedly in that state.

If you are a…

  • Positive planner,
    • Be sure that God is the one directing your paths (John 3:30, Prov. 3:5)
    • If He is, embrace God’s plan for your life (Philippians 1:6)
  • Aimless alien,
    • Realize that you cannot have control of your life (Luke 17:33)
    • Realign your life to fit God’s plan (Rom. 12:1-2)
  • Directed drifter,
    • Enjoy the view as you wander and quit worrying about the destination! (Ecc. 7:14)
    • Continually seek Jesus and He will give wisdom for the next step (Prov. 3:6)
  • For any stage of life—
    • Seek Jesus
    • Look to grow
    • Live pure and unspotted
    • Lean on him

Proverbs 16:9

People may make plans in their minds, but the Lord decides what they will do.

What would you consider yourself?  A planner, alien, or drifter?

Leave a Reply

