2 for 2 Potluck Cake

2 for 2 Potluck Cake

2cake7

I once had an infamous great-aunt.  She was known in our church for a number of reasons, most of which are irrelevant to this story.  Nonetheless, her Coca-cola Cake is worth mentioning.  She had mastered the art of making a gooey, fudge-y chocolate cake that no one could mimic, and everyone looked forward to church potlucks so that they could get a taste of that dark goodness.

2cake1

I had completely forgotten about that childhood treat until I began preparing for today’s Labor Day potluck at church.  I love cooking for people, and I could easily spend a fortune preparing decadent desserts for those around me.  However, I set myself a budget of only $2 for today.  Call me frugal.  Call me cheap.  (I am both).  But, I believed that I could make a sweet dessert for less than $2.  And I did it.

2cake2

This 2-ingredient, $2 soda cake is not nearly as difficult as Aunt Ann’s Coca-cola cake.  Yet, it is airy, light, and sweet–perfect for an end-of summer dessert.  Enjoy experimenting with different cake + soda combinations.

2cake3

Potluck Pop Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 box cake mix (I used lemon) ($1.24)
  • 1 12-ounce can soda (I used Ginger Ale) ($.65)

Directions

  • Combine both ingredients in a bowl and mix well.
  • Bake as directed on box.
  • Eat and enjoy!

Total: $1.89 for 24 servings ($.08 per serving)

2cake6

What foods are your relatives known for?

What cake + soda combinations would you want to try?

4 thoughts on “2 for 2 Potluck Cake

  1. Can you believe it, I only came across soda cake last month! I had honestly never heard of it before! Lovely story and recipe, thank you so much for bringing this along to our Fiesta Friday party!
    Ginger

    Like

Leave a Reply

