Opting to Refashion

Opting to Refashion

lacesweatshirt1Option 1:  Spend over $140 on this cute gray sweatshirt.

expensivesweatshirt

Option 2: Buy the less-expensive version at Nordstrom for $50.

expensivesweatshirt2

Option 3: Make your own sweatshirt for less than $5.

lacesweatshirt

Something told me you would choose option 3 🙂

When I bought this sweatshirt for less than $1.50 at the Tanger Outlets, I knew that I would personalize it before I wore it.  It took about a week for me to decide exactly what I wanted to do, but the project itself only took a short part of my morning.

lacesweatshirt2

After washing and drying the sweatshirt, I cut a piece of lace (leftover from making this purse) large enough to cover the entire front of my sweatshirt.

lacesweatshirt3

Then, I pinned the lace to my sweatshirt.  I cut off excess fabric and folded the edge of the lace under itself so that the sweatshirt would look more finished.

lacesweatshirt4

Using a straight stitch, I attached the lace to the sweatshirt.

lacesweatshirt5

Before long, my frugal sweatshirt was ready to be worn.

Leave a Reply

