Book Review: The Grace Awakening

Book Review: The Grace Awakening

grace

I don’t read nonfiction.

Like ever.

Other than textbooks, I could probably count the number of informational books I have read on one hand. It’s rare enough for me to start an informational book.  Finishing the book is a whole new level of accomplishment.

https://i0.wp.com/christianaudio.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/1050x1050/170ec19af00183b5e0368529fc2daa2f/t/h/the_grace_awakening_br_large.jpg

 

Not only did I finish The Grace Awakening by Chuck Swindoll, but I read the entire thing in less than a week.

Since one post will not be sufficient to share everything I learned from this book, you can expect a number of grace-related posts in the upcoming weeks.  But, I can assure you that the book is well worth your time.  Swindoll uses personal narrative, humor, and – dare I say it – grace to relate the beautiful freedom that God gives.

I will try to keep this brief since I plan to expound on grace more in some posts to come, but I do want to share the expectations of a grace awakening that Swindoll lists in the first chapter.

First, you can expect to gain a greater appreciation for God’s gifts to you and others.

Second, you can expect to spend less time and energy critical of and concerned about others’ choices.

Third, you can expect to become more tolerant and less judgmental.

Fourth, you can expect to take a giant step toward maturity.

 

 

Leave a Reply

