Top Ten Tuesday: Snowed In

Top Ten Tuesday: Snowed In

snowmageddon

“Snowmageddon” hit the East Coast this weekend, and a large portion of the country was struck immobile–college students included.  So what does a twenty-something girl do when her only mode of transportation is foot?  Here’s a glimpse:

1. Take pictures – When I awoke Friday morning, there was about an inch of fluffy snow.  Although I have a plethora of pictures of my school covered in white, I grabbed my camera and headed for the cafeteria.  Sadly, my memory card has been giving me problems, and I was not able to take pictures until after breakfast.   By the time I had switched memory cards, the snow had turned to sleet and freezing rain.  I only got a few shots before I returned to my dorm room to protect my camera.

snowwalk

I went back out on Saturday and took pictures in Old Salem.

2. Study – Snow does not cancel online quizzes.

3. Sled – I walked a couple blocks with friends through the sleet and freezing rain to sled down the steep, short hill and onto the soccer field.  It was so wet, so cold, and so much fun!

4. School projects – Lucky for me, my projects were the fun type: creating bulletin boards and painting inspirational posters for health class.

completeplate

I also wrote a paper, which was not nearly as fun.

5. Watch movies – While I painted the poster, I joined some other girls in the movie room.  Admittedly, I did not watch the entire movie.  I only stayed until I was done painting.

nourishflourish

6. Work – The on-campus coffee shop extended its hours because of the snow, I picked up an extra shift.  Then we ran out of milk…

7. Make oatmeal – Not that it needed to snow before I could do this.  I eat oatmeal almost daily 🙂

applejuiceoats

8. Read a book – Technically, reading The Year of Billy Miller was an assignment for my Children’s Literature class, but it was still a cute book.

billymiller

9. Campus worship – Most churches were closed on Sunday, so we planned a campus worship service with a few songs, a short devotion, and testimonies.

church

10. Catch up on blog posts – Blogging always gets pushed aside at the beginning of the school year.  I tried to catch up, but I am still a little behind.

 

Leave a Reply

