Simple Rice Pudding

Simple Rice Pudding

ricepudding

It’s not that our cafeteria makes bad food necessarily.  They make delicious turkey burgers, tasty Mexican chicken, and a potato medley that is beyond everything else.  It’s just that cafeteria food from anywhere gets monotonous.

Around our lunch table, I have become semi-famous for my ability to transform cafeteria food.  One day, someone even said to me, “I didn’t see any pizza on the hot line.”  I smiled as I explained that my “pizza” was a slice of sandwich bread topped with the marinara dipping sauce for mozzarella sticks, cheese from the deli bar, and vegetables from the salad bar.  It just takes a little creativity.

One food that my school serves multiple times a week is rice.  The simple fix to keep my taste buds entertained is to make rice pudding by adding a little milk and zapping the mixture in the microwave.

ricepudding2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup cooked rice
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • cinnamon to taste

Directions

  • combine rice and milk in a microwave-safe mug
  • microwave on high 1 to 1.5 minutes
  • let cool
  • top with cinnamon
  • eat and enjoy!

ricepudding3

Leave a Reply

