Top Ten Tuesday: Perfectionist

Top Ten Tuesday: Perfectionist

flawed

Hello. My name is Kat, and I am a perfectionist.

I strive to be virtually unflawed—straight A-student with model relationships and a polished exterior. A bubble of life in which nothing goes wrong.

Until it does go wrong. Then I feel like a dramatic disappointment to the world. Once again, I failed to achieve perfection. What a loser.

But God’s grace says that I am not defined by my grades, friendships, or appearance. I am more than a number on a report card, party invitation list, or clothing price tag. I am defined by my position in Him, and the only number that matters is the number of times that Christ died for my sins: once and for all (Rom. 6:10, Heb. 7:27).

When God looks at me, He doesn’t see my worldly accolades. He sees me as He made me, and He made me…

  1. In His own image (Genesis 1:27)
  2. Fearfully and wonderfully (Psalm 139:14)
  3. As His handiwork (Ephesians 2:10)
  4. With a special gift (I Timothy 4:14)
  5. For a specific purpose (Galatians 1:15)
  6. To glorify Him (Isaiah 43:7)
  7. To serve Him faithfully (I Samuel 12:24)
  8. To please Him (Colossians 3:23)
  9. To enjoy life (Ecclesiastes 8:15)
  10. To tell others about Him (Mark 16:15)

And so I am free to be what He made me to be.

His.

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Perfectionist

Leave a Reply

