Top Ten Tuesday: Non-defining Numbers

Top Ten Tuesday: Non-defining Numbers

numbersdefine

As of Sunday, I am another year older.  If turning eighteen makes you a legal adult, turning twenty-one must signal that you are well-experienced in life.

I am a numbers person, and it is easy for me to get bogged down with stats.  Twenty-one years…that’s 7,671 days.  184,104 hours.  11,046,240 minutes. 662,774,400 seconds.  I wonder how many miles I’ve traveled in that time?  How many faces have I seen?  How many books have I read?  How many hairs have I brushed off of my scalp (you other long-haired people know the struggle!)?  How many peanut butter sandwiches have I eaten?

Those numbers would be interesting to know, but they really are not important.  Those numbers do not make me who I am.  Everyday, God reminds me that only one number matters:  the number of times Christ died for my sins: once and for all (Hebrews 9:28).  As a result, my life can last for an infinite number of years.

Ten Numbers that Do Not Define Me

  1. My age
  2. The speed at which I can run a mile
  3. My grades
  4. The number of classes I take
  5. My height
  6. The number of hours I work
  7. The number of push-ups I can do
  8. The amount of time I study
  9. My bank account balance
  10. The number of friends I have

One Number that Defines Me

  1. The number of times Christ died so that I can be made holy – One

Because of God’s will, we are made holy through the sacrifice Christ made in his body once and for all time.

– Hebrews 10:10

Leave a Reply

