Chocolate Covered Strawberry Proats

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Proats

proats1

Fridays are my free days, and the best things in life are free.  On Fridays, I am always free from class, and I am usually free from work.  Pure relaxation.

A couple of weeks ago, I woke up and enjoyed a short, free run through the quaint village of Old Salem.  When I got back to school, I emptied out the storage closet on my hall and set any unclaimed furniture in the hallway with a sign that said “free.”  After lunch (which I consider free because I ate in the cafeteria), I took advantage of my free gym membership (special “thank you” to my college for providing that!) and swam at the nearby YWCA. 

Once I was back in my room, I needed some post-swim fuel.  In my mini-fridge, I had frozen strawberries which were technically free because they were left over from an RA event.  I also had a single-serve pack of chocolate protein powder (a free gift with a purchase of Quest bars) in my closet/pantry.  Some simple mixing and microwaving made a perfect (almost free) snack.

proats2

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Proats

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup oatmeal
  • 1 scoop (or one packet) chocolate protein powder
  • 1/4 cup frozen strawberries + more for topping
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup milk or an additional 1/2 cup water (I used cashew milk because it’s what was on sale at Aldi that week)

Directions

  • Combine oatmeal and protein powder in a large microwaveable bowl.
  • While stirring, add water and milk.
  • Mix in 1/4 cup strawberries.
  • Microwave on high 1 minute.  The oats should have a thick, fudgy texture.
  • top with more strawberries, if desired.
  • Eat and enjoy!

 

Special thanks to Angie, Mollie, and Scarlett for hosting Fiesta Friday this week!

fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Strawberry Proats

Leave a Reply

