Sweet Potato People

Sweet Potato People

IMG_0586

I am deeming it sweet potato week.  Why? Just because I can.

Sweet potatoes are nice, and they think you are nice.

Don’t worry.  This isn’t going to be a week of nothing but recipes.  I am hoping to cover as many of my “lives” as possible.

To start our sweet potato celebrations, I am going to show you how to make sweet potato people.  This is an activity that I used during my Children’s Literature class as a follow-up to telling a folk tale.  My class loved it, and it is great to use with children of all ages.

Supplies

  • One sweet potato per student (regular potatoes would work too)
  • Crayons
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Toothpicks
  • A handout for each student

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/76/5e/f0/765ef09f217554f74c1588f194bdb658.jpg

Directions

  • Allow each student to color and cut out a few body parts.
  • Use glue and toothpicks to attach the body body parts to the potato.  Some younger students may need help.
  • Display your Sweet Potatoes People.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato People

Leave a Reply

