WIAW #1

WIAW #1

wiaw-not-a-week

Every Wednesday, bloggers across the web come together to showcase their recent eats.  This link-up, started by Jenn of Peas and Crayons, is called What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) and is co-hosted by Laura (sprint2thetable), Arman (thebigmansworld) and Meghan (cleaneatsfastfeets).

Since I started blogging, I have enjoyed perusing through pictures of random meals, but I have never participated in WIAW.  One recent sleepless night, an idea occurred to me.

Deuteronomy 8:3 says, “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.”

I have decided to join the What I Ate Wednesday link-up in a unique fashion.  Every Wednesday (or at least some Wednesdays) I will post some snapshots of food I have enjoyed that week along with thoughts from Scripture that I have been reading–my physical and spiritual food.

I am doing this for several reasons based off of the purpose of WIAW found on the Peas and Crayons website.

  • WIAW is not about comparison or judgment. What I eat physically is not as important as what we eat spiritually.
  • WIAW is about celebrating food and individuality. First Timothy 4:4 says, “Everything God made is good, and nothing should be refused if it is accepted with thanks.”  This means that every food is good.  Every life is good.  Let’s celebrate our differences!
  • WIAW is about inspiring yourself and others. Currently, I am not very consistent with my Scripture reading, but daily journaling for this blog will hold me accountable.  I pray that my feeble thoughts about God’s Word will bring encouragement to my readers.

Without further delay, here is my first installment of WIAW.  For week one, I am posting a picture of every breakfast with what God taught me through His Word that day.

 

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

  • Physical Food: Banana Protein Smoothie with Granola

  • Spiritual Food: Ephesians 1

In verses 16-18, Paul prays that God will give wisdom to the Ephesians.  This verse reminds me that there are people in my life who pray for me.  It gives me hope because James 1 says that God will give wisdom to those who ask.  God knows that I need wisdom without having to ask, but He likes to hear from His children.  If I am praying for wisdom, and others are praying that I will have wisdom, God will honor our prayers.

Thursday, September 15

  • Physical food:  Cheesecake Protein Pudding with Banana and Peanut Butter (and an un-pictured glass of milk)

  • Spiritual food:  Ephesians 1 (again)

This morning I read Ephesians 1 in a different version, and the first verse struck me.  Paul says, “I am an apostle because that is what God wanted.”  Being an apostle is not necessarily what Paul wanted or what the world wanted for Paul.  I hope that when I come to the end of my life, I can say, “I was a ______________ because that is what God wanted.”

Friday, September 16

  • Physical food: yogurt with peanut butter and granola, citrus tea smoothie


(This picture shows some of the components of the smoothie before they were blended.  I also added cinnamon, vanilla, and protein powder.)

  • Spiritual food: Ephesians 2

Ephesians 2 has been one of my favorite passages for a few years, but I read it in a different translation today and saw it in a new light.  Today I truly realized my past: it’s deprivation, sinfulness, and hopelessness. But when I got to verse 4, I marveled at God’s mercy.  Because of my sin, I deserve to spend eternity in Hell, separated from God.

godrichmercy

Because of God’s mercy, I have a new life.  He has “raised us up with Christ and gave us a seat with him in the heavens.”  What grace!!

Saturday, September 17

  • Physical food: Overnight Tea-Steeped OIAJ with Apple Slices

  • Spiritual food: Ephesians 2 (again…and I will probably read it again tomorrow!  It is so rich!)

Yesterday I mentioned that God’s mercy is great;  He has saved us from so much.  Today, verse 7 caught my attention.  It says that God will show us the immeasurable riches of his grace and kindness in the coming ages.  Right now, we already see insurmountable grace, but in the future, we will see His grace and kindness more fully.  That is astonishing!

Sunday, September 18

  • Physical food: Overnight oats with raspberry applesauce, Super Squirrely nut butter (honestly the best nut butter out there), and granola

  • Spiritual food: Ephesians 2 (I promise that I will move on to chapter 3 tomorrow!)

We were aliens!  Strangers!  And yet Christ loved us enough to die for us.  That is such a humbling thought.  It is hard for me to be polite to those who minorly annoy me.  Yet, Christ died for me when I rejected him.

Also, you should check out Emily’s post from Sunday.  It was great!

Monday, September 19

  • Physical food: Oatmeal with Strawberry Yogurt and Granola

My cafeteria food pictures are always ugly.

  • Spiritual food:  Ephesians 3

Dwell on verses 18-19

“I pray that you and all God’s holy people will have the power to understand the greatness of Christ’s love–how wide and how long and how high and how deep that love is.  Christ’s love is greater than anyone can ever know, but I pray that you will be able to know that love…”

Tuesday, September 20

  • Physical food: Oatmeal with Raisins and a Banana Protein Shake

Cafeteria pictures are seriously the worst…

  • Spiritual food: Ephesians 4:1-2 (I intended to read the whole chapter, but the first two verses were pretty convicting, so I meditated on those.)

“…Live up to the life to which God called you.  Always be humble, gentle, and patient, accepting each other in love.”

This morning, I am not feeling humble, gentle or patient.  In fact, I told someone that my “people meter” was full before 8:15.  But why did I feel so annoyed and impatient?  Because I was too focused on my own goals.  How could this morning have been different if I tried to help other people accomplish their daily goals instead of being so preoccupied with my own?

Questions for the comments below:

What have you eaten spiritually this week?

Do you ever stop your Bible study early to dwell on a single verse?

 

http://peasandcrayons.com/

 

 

2 thoughts on “WIAW #1

  1. Wow sister, thank you for sharing WIAW in this format. I too struggle with getting into the Word consistently, but whenever I get into it, my heart is so convicted by my own sinfulness and amazed at God’s mercy. I realize that I really don’t deserve any of God’s mercy, and I see that I truly was dead in my sin. There was nothing I could do about it, and then God quickened me. He raised me up. He raised us up together with Christ! We have a new identity. We can think spiritually only by His grace and His mercy. It’s so humbling, I can’t really put it into words.

    I’ve really been meditating on Romans 13:11-14 and how my whole life should be lived in view of eternity, in view of the day to come. Sometimes I get so focused on the here and now and forget why Jesus came. He came to redeem us from an eternity apart from God, to an eternity with God forever. I just am so floored by the fact that it has happened to you and me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

