Thinking In Pictures

Thinking In Pictures

I think in pictures, not words.

You say “banana.” I think:

Image result for banana

You say “lighthouse.” I think:

dsc_0338

You say “week.” I think:

week.png
You say “God.” I think…well, here is where it gets confusing.

Sometimes, I think:

Image result for god

Other times, I think:

Image result for Jesus with children

But the other morning, I thought:

Image result for scary cage plants

To be honest, that morning God seemed so far away. I’m on earth with sin and struggles; He is in Heaven with perfection and worship. It seems like an endless sky separates me from Him.

Image result for separated from God

When I feel far from God, I tend to make regulations that I must follow–cages that I must climb in order to reach God.

But Colossians 1:20-23 says:

If you have died with Christ to the elementary principles of the world, why, as if you were living in the world, do you submit yourself to decrees, such as, “Do not handle, do not taste, do not touch!” (which all refer to things destined to perish with use)—in accordance with the commandments and teachings of men? These are matters which have, to be sure, the appearance of wisdom in  self-made religion and self-abasement and severe treatment of the body, but are of no value against fleshly indulgence.

 

When I reflect on my self-imposed rules, I realize that this false asceticism is worthless. The rules may improve peoples’ opinions of me–she is so kind, so self-disciplined, so good–but no law of my own can move God closer to me.

For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God;  not as a result of works, so that no one may boast. — Ephesians 2:8-9

God isn’t behind a fence that I need to climb or through a jungle that I must chop away. He is ever-present and ready to hear from his children.

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there. – Psalm 139:7-8

So when you say “God,” I cannot picture anything. He is not just a righteous Judge, or just a good Father, or just a gracious Savior. He cannot be defined by my finite imagination.  He is above all, before all, and beyond all that we can picture.

For  by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things have been created through Him and for Him. He  is before all things, and in Him all things hold together. – Colossians 1:16-17

3 thoughts on “Thinking In Pictures

  1. Isn’t that mind boggling? God is not anything like us. He can’t be limited to temples built with hands, yet He came down from heaven to earth. We couldn’t reach to Him, but He reached to us. Jesus Christ, His beloved Son came down and loved us when we were yet sinners, yet His enemies, so that we could walk again with Him like as before in the garden. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is so awe-inducing and refreshing to know our Great Almighty God cannot fit into our finite conceptions of Him or how to follow Him! We can never leave His presence! Just the encouraging words I needed to hear! Thanks for sharing your heart and the lessons God is teaching you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

