I Drove A Car Today

I Drove A Car Today

I must admit that I am far from being the most optimistic person in the world, but today I spent my part of my commute in utter amazement.  It all started with a statement that someone made at Bible study last night.  (I wish that I could type in such a way to show their inflections and sarcasm)

When we get stuck in traffic, we grumble, “There’s too many cars out here.”  But, um, HELLO! What are YOU driving?! Is THAT helping the situation at all?!

Why not change your perspective a little?

I had to laugh because it is true!  If I find myself in afternoon traffic, I unconsciously assume that everyone else is in MY way, but (HELLO!) they probably want to get home and change into comfortable shorts just as much as I do.  And my beloved car, Corrie the Corolla, is just adding to the chaos.

Today, when Corrie the Corolla found herself surrounded by dozens of automobiles on Peter’s Creek Parkway, that statement from last night flashed through my mind.  Suddenly, I was amazed for several reasons:

  • There were literally hundreds of people, all on the same road, and all with different destinations.
  • We were in pieces of metal moving at 55 mph.
  • There were colored lights that told us when to go and when to stop.

We didn’t have to walk or run or skip or crawl to our destinations.  We had CARS.

What’s more, my fingertips are hitting plastic buttons right now, and words are exploding across the world wide web.

When I want to eat something, I can reach into another piece of metal and find food that is perfectly cold.  Or, if it is too cold, I can put it in a box that will heat it up.

To talk to my brother or parents, I tap a glass screen and, suddenly, I can hear their voices.

Maybe I am too simplistic, but I think that life is wonderful when we look at it with wonder.

 

Question for you:

What are you amazed by this week?

Leave a Reply

