What Google Won’t Tell You About Pine Cove

What Google Won’t Tell You About Pine Cove

In 2014, a Google search introduced me to Pine Cove, and I accepted a job as a camp photographer a few months later.

However, there are a few things that Google did not tell me about Pine Cove, and when I walked onto Pine Cove soil for the first time, I was a little surprised.

For example, Google didn’t tell me that Texans wear Texas flag shorts and XXXL t-shirts (I guess because everything is bigger in Texas?).

15cityb05-06- 132

Google never mentioned that Pine Cove staff has a certain look.  Anyone remotely familiar with East Texas can affirm that as you walk down the street, you can easily recognize Pine Cove staff in their Chacos, Nike shorts, and oversized t-shirts.  In fact, I have recognized Pine Cove staff in other states just by looking at their outfits.

IMG_20150529_200959

Google didn’t tell me that I would look like this 5 days a week:

cityphotoganatomy

Google didn’t tell me that Pine Cove staff jumps incessantly because “the joy of the Lord is our strength.”

16CCB04-02-5.jpg

Google didn’t tell me that leadership dresses up in really weird costumes every single day.

15cityb02-05- 144

Google didn’t tell me that I would get weird tan lines on my feet.

Google didn’t tell me that I would meet awesome families and build lasting friendships.

Google didn’t tell me that I would fall in love with everything about Pine Cove–from the early-morning oatmeal to the late-night name game.  Google didn’t tell me that I would go back and work there summer after summer.  Google didn’t tell me that Pine Cove is one of the dearest places on earth.

16ccb00-10-69

And that is what you really need to know about Pine Cove.

Leave a Reply

