Finding Whose We Are: His Handiwork

Finding Whose We Are: His Handiwork

  • Career
  • Wealth
  • Relationships
  • Health
  • Accomplishments
  • Appearance

These are just a few of the many false identities that we are urged to embrace.

A few weeks ago, Emily, Naomi, and I began talking about how easy it is to misplace our identities in any (or all) of these facades.  We decided to write a series of blog posts about the importance of finding Whose we are rather than who we are in a world that is searching for identity.

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus, unto good works which God has planned beforehand that we should walk in them.

Ephesians 2:10

Reading this verse transfers my mind to another time and place: UT Tyler, May 2015.  As I sat through my first Pine Cove “Way Sessions,” I was suffering from an extreme case of misplaced identity, and I knew it.  Yet, God placed me in a room with 4000 other college students, all of us listening to seemingly endless lessons about proper camp conduct.

I don’t remember who stood to speak that day (undoubtedly an important Pine Cove leader), but I will never forget his words:

Someone here has no idea who they are.  Let me tell you; you can never know who you are until you know Whose you are.

The words were an arrow straight to the heart, a true smack in the face.  Somehow, this unknown man knew that I was sitting in the crowd, and he knew all of my thoughts.  I wanted to stand and say, “That is me!  I am the one who doesn’t know who they are!”  (Of course, being a quiet introvert surrounded by 4000 strangers, I stayed planted in my chair.)

The man continued reading Ephesians 2:10

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus, unto good works which God has planned beforehand that we should walk in them.

He explained that our identity has nothing to do with our

  • Career
  • Wealth
  • Relationships
  • Health
  • Accomplishments
  • Appearance

In contrast, our identity has everything to do with the fact that God is the Creator of all things.  He is the Creator of the stars, the seas, the birds, the fish, and even us.  And He didn’t make junk; He made beautiful masterpieces that have a specific purpose.  He created us to do good works that He has already planned.

Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 8.28.14 AM

And when we place all of our focus, all of our drive, all of our hope in Him, we will find that being a masterpiece of the perfect Creator is a great identity to claim.

One thought on “Finding Whose We Are: His Handiwork

  1. Wow this is precious. We are NOT those things. We are new creatures. New people in Christ Jesus; I know what you mean by wrestling, struggling with identity, and I am incredibly humbled and thankful that you started this to point us to WHOSE we are, Whose we were made to be, and Whose we are redeemed to be in Christ Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

