How to Find Balance in College

How to Find Balance in College

Perhaps you have seen the charts that look like this:

choose2

When I visited a college for the first time in November of 2012, one of my dorm hosts showed me this chart.  Five years later, I can attest that it is accurate.

Anyone on campus can tell you that I (almost) always opted for “enough sleep” and “good grades.” Rather than being equilateral, my triangle looked more like this:

unbalanced

However, I learned some tricks over the years that let me have (the appearance of) a semi-social life while still sleeping enough more than most students and receiving the grades that I wanted.

1 – Take advantage of mealtimes.

It is scientifically proven that you have to eat.  Rather than grabbing a snack from the vending machine between classes, eat a meal with friends in the dining hall.  While you eat, you can also chat and relax.

2 – Get a job on campus.

My absolute favorite job while in college was working at the coffee shop in the student center.  Before morning classes, all of the students who chose a social life over sleep need some extra shots of espresso.  While I made the perfect latte, we talked about all the happenings around campus.

3 – Make a routine.

During my senior year, some friends and I planned to hang out once a week at the same exact time.  We treated this like a class–it was something that we did every single week. This way, we had at least one hour of social interaction.

4 – Realize the value of friendship.

No matter how busy you are, you must find time to spend with friends.

These tips won’t add any hours to your day, but I hope that they will help you find a little bit of balance in the adventure of college.

2 thoughts on “How to Find Balance in College

  1. I think sometimes I still struggle with making friend time even though i’m not in college. This is a good encouragement! And I’m still definitely planning on doing the ‘Finding Whose We Are’ this week (Lord willing!). :))) Happy August Kat!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Emily! I can’t wait to read your next post. When I get back from camp, I will find time to catch up with you and perhaps plan some more collabs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

